Honor Roll

Class of 1944

Dave Scott, currently of Monmouth, is touted by an article in the Statesman Journal as the “oldest motocross racer in the US.”  Scott’s family is well known for starting Scott’s Cycles in Salem, and while Scott competes in the Oldster category, he is still highly competitive.


Class of 1975

John McArdle (class of 1975), Mayor of Independence, Oregon,  was recently honored with the James C. Richards Memorial Award by the League of Oregon Cities.  This honor is granted to an elected official who serves through “an exceptional personal investment in intergovernmental affairs.”  McArdle helped found the Mid-Willamette Valley Mayors’ Coalition, is on the board of the Mid-Willamette Valley Council of Governments, chairs a regional economic development partnership board, and is past president of the League of Oregon Cities and the Oregon Mayor’s Association.  This year McArdle’s city was chosen as an All-American City.

Class of 1996

Kudos to Audrey Luna, who along with the rest of the Metropolitan Opera cast of Thomas Ades’ The Tempest, won this year’s Grammy for the Best 2013 Opera Recording.

Audrey Luna as Ariel in The Tempestempest

Class of 2008

Alex Fletchall, a student in the Oregon Institute of Technology dental hygiene program, spent a volunteer week in September cleaning teeth in rural Jamaica on an international externship program (IEP), collaborating with Great Shape 1000 Smiles, a humanitarian dental project.


Class of 2010

Dylan Young, a senior receiver for the Southern Oregon University football team, has been named first team All-Frontier Conference for the Raiders who won the NAIA National Championship game in Florida.  Young amassed an NAIA-leading almost 1,700 yards on close to 90 catches to go along with 22 touchdowns.

images[1] (2)